Rewards and Praise

I just got back from a trip home to visit with some friends who were (and are) having a rough time, so please bear with me if I have spelling and grammar errors. I’m a bit worn out from the trip, especially considering that I wound up in the completely wrong state! Anyway, back I am, to posting as well!

Over at Being a Head of House I found an interesting post regarding positive reinforcement. This is something that I have had a lot of cause to consider in recent weeks.

I have been working harder at general household things. I’ve always been terrible about doing the things that I know I should. Honestly, I felt as though someone else should be doing them for me. When I was growing up, many of those skills weren’t learned because I had no role whatsoever in keeping the home. I felt (quite unjustly) that my husband should do at least half of the work at home, in spite of the fact that I am a stay at home mom!

It took a long time to understand why my attitude was wrong.

Then I figured out that it needed to get done. He wasn’t going to do it, and that left me. My attitude was still wrong, but it was a step in the right direction. So I went to my husband and asked him for a “reward” for each room that I got thoroughly deep cleaned. For me, that meant something “nice” for the room. I am holding to this bargain simply because there are a lot of things that we don’t have but need in order to make our home complete. It’s looking better, but not nearly there yet.

However, at the time I thought of the reward (item) as being the motivation to get the work done. Needless to say, it didn’t work. Material things come and go — they aren’t a big deal. I didn’t have Christ at the time that I really first struggled with this issue, so I wasn’t particularly focused on what God wanted me to do: I was focused on myself, and myself only.

When I first found Christ, and began to understand my role as a woman, I was angry. I know I’ve said this before, but it does bear repeating. I believed that my role as a wife meant that I was of less value to God than my husband is. I felt rejected, frustrated, and very, very alone.

So I did what I always (used to) do when I feel frustrated. I had a tantrum. I rejected God, didn’t talk to Him for a few days, then tearfully admitted that I was confused and hurt and accepted His guidance after about two weeks. Needless to say, He gave it, and as He often does, He gave it in spades. I love God 🙂 (Rare emoticon use there!)

So I was beginning to figure things out. My relationship with my husband was beginning to work out, but I felt like something was missing. The entire house was still a mess. My husband was stressed and unhappy and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why. God moment, you know?

I started three weeks ago with the bathroom. The bathroom is a big deal to me, and once it was clean, I felt a lot better. I got up the courage to discuss with my husband the idea of discipline on the days when nothing gets done in the house. Note that nothing means that even a small amount of work counts as work because it’s hard to say how the day went. I might have been dealing with a sick baby, or not been feeling well myself. I might have been ministering to a friend in need, etc, etc.

In any event, I understood something when the bathroom was done. My husband was happy. That night I ran him a hot bubble bath and lit candles in the bathroom for his comfort and enjoyment. The expression on his face was the reward that I needed! I was fired up! So I cleaned the living room!

He came home. He relaxed. I could see some of the pain he’d been feeling reducing (though he didn’t admit to it!). I could see him being more comfortable in his own home and in his own skin. This meant a LOT to me. My reward was right there!

Positive reinforcement isn’t always about reward or praise. Sometimes it’s about the expression on the face, or a touch of the hand. Women and men work differently: my husband needs to hear it. I don’t. I just need to see it, and know that he’s happy. His consistency is reinforcement enough for me now.

Thank you Cowboy!

2 Comments

  1. Marie said,

    October 17, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Your husband’s happy face affected you internally the way a new lamp or a new rug never could. That’s wonderful! I expect that you were happier and more relaxed in a cleaner environment as well. Good post, Devin.
    Marie

  2. Devin said,

    October 17, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    It’s more than that, Marie — it’s the fact that his stress levels have started to go down, which means that our relationship naturally improves. Things we ordinarily wouldn’t “do” become new experiences again, and we generally have more fun 🙂


Leave a comment